South East Branch

The Branch meets several times a year.

All meetings are eligible for 1.5 verifiable points of CPD.

Programme 2019/2020

Evening meetings will be held at Weston House, Great Ormond Street from 18:00 hrs.

Mr Mike Harrison, Consultant in Paediatric Dentistry at Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust will be our guest speaker on 25 February 2020. Mike has an interest in genetics and the role they play in dental anomalies. His chosen topic is Bones and Teeth - where bone health and dental health meet. This will be a very informative presentation with new ideas being presented.

In a return to the traditional format, as a branch we are very lucky to be receiving the BSPD National President, Mrs Sarah McKaig, on Wednesday 11 March 2020. Sarah is a Consultant at Birmingham Dental Hospital. She will be delivering her presidential address to us on this evening.

The final meeting of the year, Tuesday 12 May 2020, will as usual combine the junior member’s papers with the AGM when Ghaida Al-Jaddir will take over the chair of the branch. Please also encourage your junior staff to consider submitting any audits, interesting clinical cases or research that they may be working on for the members’ papers evening in May 2020. This year, following on from last year’s success, we are going to continue to run two prize categories –one for DCT/Clinical Fellow/Undergraduate level and one for StR (pre-CCST) level.

Tea, coffee and wine will be served before each meeting so please come along and have a drink and a chat before we start the evening’s business. New members are always welcome so please encourage your colleagues to join us.

Applications for Funding
Following the South East Branch AGM,  it was agreed to utilise the branch money for worthy causes such as a charity trip abroad. The South East Branch would like to offer a £250 donation to successful applicants!!

Your proposal will be reviewed by the Committee and you will be notified in writing as soon as a decision has been made.

Committee members
Chairperson: David Baldwin
Past Chairperson:
Janet Davies
Chairperson elect: Ghaida Al-Jaddir
Council Representative:
Sophie Marshall
Deputy Council Representative:
Maalini Patel
Hon Secretary: Monika Ivanova
Hon Treasurer: Nabina Bhujel
CPD Representative: Francesca Fong
 Committee Members: Kunal Patel

Maalini Patel
  Yi Loo
  Katherine Wood