

## **NEWSLETTER** 2023-2024

**Notes from the Chair:** 

Dear Members,

I hope you are all enjoying a wonderful summer. I take this opportunity to introduce myself as Chair of the BSPD South East branch committee for 2023- 24. I am honoured and thrilled to be a part of the committee in the role.

First and foremost, I would like to thank Mina, Monika and the committee for an exceptional year with such informative and enjoyable events. This year, our plan is to continue in the virtual format using Zoom for the evening meetings and face to face for the study day and AGM.

As always, we encourage you to engage with trainees, postgrads and anyone who has an interest in Paediatric Dentistry within your teams to attend.

In more exciting news, the 2025 BSPD national conference will be hosted by London and a separate organising committee is being drafted for this. We hope to keep you updated on this in due course.

I have put together the following programme for the coming year:

## SE Branch Evening Meetings 2023/24

October 11th 2023

Priti Acharya, Alaa Bani Hani and Prabhleen Anand

Priti and Prabhleen are Consultants in Orthodontics and Paediatric Dentistry respectively and Alaa is a FTTA trainee in Paediatric dentistry at Eastman Dental Hospital, London

The Eastman story of Autotransplantation - Evidence and Clinical Cases

Autotransplants - research and clinical cases; The Eastman story" - this talk will cover a literature review on autotransplants, the current protocol and pathway for the autotransplant clinic and finish with some cases to show the work up, surgical, orthodontic and restorative work done on some of the cases treated at the at the RNENT and Eastman Dental Hospital.



Simon Harvey, Consultant in Dental and Maxillofacial Radiology, Eastman Dental Hospital, London.

CBCTs: Other side of the story-relevance in paediatric dentistry

CBCT is no longer a novel technique but it's use is widespread across dentistry. This talk will look at those applications in paediatric dentistry and allay any fears about dose. We will also briefly cover my hints and tips for anyone wanting to buy a scanner.

January 24th 2024

Paula Waterhouse, Consultant in Paediatric dentistry, Newcastle Dental Hospital

Presidential address

April 24th 2024

Mona Agel, Consultant in Paediatric dentistry, Sheffield teaching hospital

An update on dental volunteering trip to Palestine sponsored by SE BSPD

In December of 2022, I decided to dedicate my Christmas break to a dental aid trip in the West Bank of Palestine with Dental Aid Network. I travelled with a group of UK-based volunteer Dentists and Doctors to provide care for underprivileged children living in the area. We worked in conjunction with the Palestinian Children's Relief Fund to provide dental aid for orphaned children and those with special needs in several areas across the West Bank, where access to dental care is limited and treatment need is high. I look forward to sharing my experiences of the trip and discussing some of the rewards and challenges of it.

March 15th 2024

F2F meeting- Robens suite, Guy's Hospital Study day 'Every piece is part of the puzzle' 9am-5pm

May 17th 2024

F2F meeting - Robens suite, Guy's Hospital

AGM + Members papers 6:30-7:30 pm



## NEWSLETTER 2023-2024

Notes from the Hon. Secretary:

I would like to thank Prabhleen and the committee for this opportunity and if I can do half as good a job Monika did, I would consider this a successful attempt!

As mentioned above, the evening meetings will continue to be held remotely but our study day and AGM will be face to face. A zoom link will be sent in advance to members. I am truly excited about the line up this year! I very much look forward to working with Prabhleen and our committee members.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any queries regarding our branch or programme for this year. I hope to help in any way I can.

Lastly, please see below our wonderful committee members for 2023-2024



Prabhleen Anand Chair



Mina Vaidyanathan Past Chair



Ravinder Kaur Chair Elect



Amrita Singh Honorary Secretary



Jasmine Cachia Mintoff Honorary Treasurer



Nikita Patel Council Representative



Sara Chapman CPD Representative

## Committee members:



Amrisha Ondhia



Rakhee Budheo



Michaela DeSeta



Nabih Alkhouri



Vikash Patel